IWSC 2013: The 10th IEEE International Workshop on Software Cybernetics

Held in conjunction with COMPSAC, the IEEE Signature Conference on Computers, Software & Applications - July 22-26, 2013 - Kyoto, Japan


Goal of the Workshop

With the advent of service-oriented computing, cloud computing, cyber-physical systems, and many other emerging computing, communication and control technologies, software systems are required to be more and more autonomic, self-organized, evolutionary and collaborative. The effectiveness of software technology and the quality of generated software have ever greater impact on products and services, economic activities, defense, scientific research and social life. This is particularly true as software tends to be services and operate in open and volatile environments, such as the Internet. In order to achieve the objective that software can serve well in dynamic environments with changing user requirements, the software must be adaptive based on the external input and feedback of the application physical system.

Theme and Scope of the Workshop

This workshop, the 10th International Workshop on Software Cybernetics, which has been held in conjunction with the annual international Computer Software and Applications Conference (COMPSAC) since 2004, will focus on the Software as a Control System (SaaCS) and the principles underlying their engineering methodologies and techniques. It provides an international forum for researchers and practitioners to exchange new research results, identify future research problems, and report the current best practices in the industry.

Tentative list of topics of emphasis will include, but not limited to, the following:
Modeling of cyber-physical systems for critical applications
Formalization and quantification of feedback and self-adaptive control mechanisms in software
Adaptation of control theory principles to software processes and systems
Integration of software, networking and control engineering to achieve adaptive software
Situation-aware, self-adaptive, self-managing, and learning software
Dynamic decision-making methods for requirement engineering
Feedback control in fault-tolerant computing and security
Adaptive testing and test case generation
Control of adaptive software rejuvenation
Relationship between simulation and controllability
Adaptive system design and architecture
Modeling of evolving environments and dynamic situations
Web services modeling, testing and evaluation
Practice and experience of SaaCS
Machine learning for software engineering and QoS control
Use of cybernetic theory in application and systems software


Papers must be submitted electronically via the IWSC 2013 Submission Page.

Follow the IEEE Computer Society Press Proceedings Author Guidelines to prepare your papers: http://www.computer.org/portal/web/cscps/submission.

All papers will be carefully reviewed by at least three reviewers. Papers can be submitted as regular papers (six pages), and the acceptance will depend on reviewer feedback. Accepted papers will be published in the workshop proceedings of the IEEE Computer Software and Applications Conference (COMPSAC 2013) by the IEEE CS Press. At least one of the authors of each accepted paper must register as a full participant of the workshop to have the paper published in the proceedings. Each accepted paper must be presented in person by an author.

General Inquiries

For updated information, please contact the workshop organizers.

Workshops Program Deadlines

Extended: April 8, 2013 : Workshop papers due
April 26, 2013: Workshop paper notifications
May 5, 2013: Camera-ready copy and registration due

IWSC Program Chairs

Hong Zhu
Oxford Brookes University, UK
hzhu (at) brookes.ac.uk

Chao Liu
Beihang University, China
liuchao (at) buaa.edu.cn

IWSC General Chair

Doo-Hwan Bae
Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology, Korea

IWSC Steering Committee

Stephen Yau (Chair)
Arizona State University, USA

Fevzi Belli
University of Paderborn, Germany

Kai-Yuan Kai
Beihang University, China

Ratnesh Kumar
Iowa State University, USA

Aditya P. Mathur
Purdue University, USA

Kishor S. Trivedi
Duke University, USA

Program Committee

Andrea Ahlemeyer-Stubbe, antz21 GmbH, Germany
Javier Alonso, Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
Byoungju Choi, Ewha Womans University, Korea
William Cheng-Chung Chu, Tunghai University, Taiwan
Michael Grottke, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany
Jun Han, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Zhi Jin, Peking University, China
Ron S. Kenett, KPA Ltd., Israel
Lin Liu, Tsinghua University, China
Insik Shin, KAIST, Korea
Guozhen Tan, Dalian University of Technology, China
Xianping Tao, Nanking University, China
Feng-Jian Wang, National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan
Eric Wong, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Keunhyuk Yeom, Pusan National University, Korea
Wenyun Zhao, Fudan University, China